Farmer’s little helpers

004

Insects are fascinating. I am starting to get to a point in my life when I really nerd out over all kinds of bugs. It comes with the organic farmer territory I think. There is an entire complex world down there that most of us don’t understand.

I spotted a baby praying mantis in the transplant greenhouse germination chamber. It stays a toasty 60-80 degrees in there all day every day.  I couldn’t figure out how on earth the little guy got there until I looked up the familiar looking cocoon. These little babies will eat all kinds of gnats and insects they find in the greenhouse until it warms up enough for them to venture outdoors to eat more…grasshoppers, beetles, flies, crickets, moths,etc! They are the perfect  farming companions to help us keep all the not so beneficial insects in check.

5 thoughts on “Farmer’s little helpers

  1. Too bad they don’t eat voles and dear! Love you Meg! (yes andrew love you too!)

    Doug DeLeeuw

    Director, HROC Medtronic, Inc.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. I am a new gardener and have adopted organic practices. I love the mantis, too. I have been learning about beneficial insects to help out in my garden, too.

Leave a Reply

