April Showers!

First big harvest! Greens galore!

Luckily the weather decided to make a shift this last week. As a result we were able to harvest quite a load for the Ann Arbor Market on Saturday.

The rest of the week was filled with regular spring work. I worked on mixing more soil mix for the transplant blocks.We’ve got lots of head lettuces, kohlrabi, tomatoes and flowers on their way to growing in the field. I like the way they look so rich and uniform here.

Also on the to-do list was a good amount of planting. Here I am seeding beets using an earthway seeder. We put in four varieties: Early top, Three root grex, boro F1, Chioggia! A rainbow of colors and flavors—can’t wait!

Finally, we harvested our first crop from the hoop house and its was beautiful! We took some over to dinner for easter.

I thought I’d include a poem by Mary Oliver. She writes so eloquently about the natural world. As the farm begins to wake up for the season we’re seeing all sorts of natural wonders and witnessing the buzz of new life.

Spring

Somewhere

a black bear

has just risen from sleep

and is staring

down the mountain.

All night

in the brisk and shallow restlessness

of early spring

I think of her,

her four black fists

flicking the gravel,

her tongue

like a red fire

touching the grass,

the cold water.

There is only one question:

how to love this world.

I think of her

rising

like a black and leafy ledge

to sharpen her claws against

the silence

of the trees.

Whatever else

my life is

with its poems

and its music

and its glass cities,

it is also this dazzling darkness

coming

down the mountain,

breathing and tasting;

all day I think of her–

her white teeth,

her wordlessness,

her perfect love.

2 thoughts on “April Showers!

  1. Megan and Andrew…The produce is fantastic, it is so pretty I guess I can now say spring is here when I see that. Thanks for sharing the photos and also thanks for sharing the poem I really liked it. Love to you both and MISS YOU!! Aunt Judi

  2. Meg,

    Your produce looks beautiful! I have been thinking of how you must be fairing now often and hope that you are well. Your pictures are great, it’s nice to get a visual taste of how things are going. Hugs! I hope that we can come out and visit you this spring/summer.

    K

Leave a Reply

